[Skip to Content]

The Elizabeth Mills Brown Award recognizes design excellence in the restoration, rehabilitation, adaptation, and reuse of historic structures.  The award is named after and honors the work of Betty Brown, a prominent Connecticut architectural historian, preservationist, and civic leader, and author of the extraordinarily comprehensive and meticulously researched New Haven: A Guide to Architecture and Urban Design (Yale University Press, 1976). This award is presented in conjunction with the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation.

Registration Opens: June 7, 2021
Registration Deadline: August 6, 2021
Submission Deadline: September 3, 2021



  • Projects must be in Connecticut and involve the restoration, rehabilitation, or reuse of historic buildings.
  • Form-Based Codes for historic areas may be considered.
  • Projects must have been completed within the past 5 years


Judging Criteria: 

  • The jury will be comprised of professionals from the architecture and preservation disciplines, including AIA CT and the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation. 
  • The Jurors will take into consideration and acknowledge:
  • Projects will be judged to the Secretary of Interior’s Standards in one or more of the four preservation approaches recognized by the Standards: Preservation, Rehabilitation, Restoration, or Reconstruction.
  • Design Excellence.
  • Clarity of the submission narrative to describe how the project accomplished its goals while complying with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards.


Submission Requirements:

  • Submissions are to be composed as a single multi-page PDF document. The document is to include:
    • A clear and concise narrative that describes specific challenges, goals, and how the project follows the Secretary of Interior’s Standards (500 words maximum)
    • A minimum of 3 and a maximum of 10 pages which should include:
      • Photographs: existing conditions prior to any work
      • Photographs: of the completed interior and exterior
      • Drawings: plans, sections, elevations, details
  • All photography permissions and releases are the responsibility of the submitting architect whose project has been selected. If the Project is recognized with an award, individual high-res photographs in JPEG format will be required from the submitter.


Follow Us Facebook Twitter